An 8SAFE Pantry

This is by no means an exhaustive list of 8SAFE® products — just a few staples that are free of gluten, wheat, milk, soy, egg, peanut, tree nuts, fish & shellfish. For more 8SAFE products check out my recipes, follow me on Instagram or feel free to reach out to me via email.

Manufacturers change their recipes & formulas from time to time, so always double check the ingredients of any product you use (including those listed) to keep you and your guests safe.


Kelly-Costigan-111.jpg

Confused about coconut?

According to The American College of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology, "Coconut is not a botanical nut; it is classified as a fruit, even though the Food and Drug Administration recognizes coconut as a tree nut. While allergic reactions to coconut have been documented, most people who are allergic to tree nuts can safely eat coconut."

FATS & OILS

Choosing an 8SAFE OLIVE OIL, COCONUT OIL, & CANOLA OIL is easy, just be sure to choose an oil that’s 100% pure (not a blend). The olive oil I currently use the most is Kirkland Brand Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil and my go-to canola oil is Spectrum Organic Canola Oil. I’ll use Refined, Expeller Pressed Coconut Oil when I’d like a very subtle coconut flavor, and Virgin Coconut Oil when I’m looking for a strong, tropical flavor.

VINEGAR

Pure distilled VINEGAR is gluten free (malt vinegar is not) and flavored or seasoned vinegars may or may not contain gluten so be sure to read your labels. Napa Valley Naturals Organic Red Wine Vinegar, White Wine Vinegar & Balsamic Vinegar; and Bragg Organic Apple Cider Vinegar are all 8SAFE.


BEANS & LEGUMES

All beans (except soybeans) are inherently 8SAFE and should have nothing more than the type of bean listed in the ingredients —use caution when purchasing canned beans with any additives. Dry beans may become cross-contaminated with gluten depending on where they were grown and packaged, so look for a gluten free label whenever possible. One of the brands I trust for CANNED & DRIED BEANS is Eden Organic.


SWEETENERS

MAPLE SYRUP, AGAVE, & HONEY are all excellent sweeteners for 8SAFE cooking, just be sure to use products that are 100% pure. GRANULATED SUGAR (table sugar) is 8SAFE regardless of which brand you use, and the PURE VANILLA EXTRACT I trust most to be 8SAFE & full of flavor is Nielson-Massey Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Extract, though good old McCormick Pure Vanilla Extract is 8SAFE as well.


SPICES

SALT (Himalayan, Kosher, and standard table salt) and DRIED SPICES (like ground pepper, cinnamon, oregano, etc.) are 8SAFE, though you may not find an ingredients list on the packaging. Spice blends may contain gluten and special caution should be taken to verify if the blend is 8SAFE. Simply Organic is my preferred brand for both single and blended spices (such as their curry powder and chili powder).

POWDERS

I recommend Bob’s Red Mill brand for Baking Powder, Baking soda, Guar Gum & Egg Replacer.


GRAINS & FLOURS

You can find all sorts of 8SAFE flours in the marketplace, from coconut flour to cassava flour. I’ve experimented with many of them, but ultimately, the ALL PURPOSE FLOUR I use most is Bob’s Red Mill 1-to-1 Gluten Free Flour.

Oats themselves are gluten free, but cross-contamination with wheat in the growing fields can be an issue. Be sure to use plain, gluten free oats when called for in a recipe. My favorite OATMEAL is Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Organic Quick Oats, but their Rolled Oats and Steel Cut Oats varieties are 8SAFE as well.

Plain RICE (basmati, brown, wild, etc) is 8SAFE (my favorite brands are Lundburg and Lotus Foods). It can be tricky to find seasoned rice that’s gluten and top eight allergen free, but Lundberg has a few that are also vegan, like their Yellow Rice and Wild Porcini Mushroom.

PASTA

RICE, CORN, & BEAN PASTA — As with flours, there’s a lot of 8SAFE pasta options available. After experimenting with lots of different brands and types, the pastas I use most in my own kitchen are Anna Gluten Free Penne Rigate Pasta and Lotus Foods Ramen Noodles.

MILKS & BROTHS

Even though the Food and Drug Administration recognizes coconut as a tree nut, coconut isn’t a nut at all — it’s classified as a fruit. Therefore, UNSWEETENED COCONUT MILK is considered 8SAFE. Unsweetened, canned coconut milk should list nothing more than coconut, water, and/or guar gum in its ingredients (such as Native Forest Unsweetened Canned Coconut Milk). It’s difficult to find boxed coconut milk without extra additives, but Aroy-D Brand is 8SAFE and comes in convenient 8.5 fl oz boxes.

It’s getting easier to find BROTH & STOCK that’s free of gluten and the top eight allergens. The brand I use most is Pacific Brand for Chicken, Vegetable, and Beef broth.

CONDIMENTS

It’s easy enough to find an 8SAFE brand of your basic KETCHUP, MUSTARD, and RELISH, although you will need to read the labels to be sure.

 
 

Want more?

Instagram is where I share 8SAFE products that I find & enjoy; restaurants that offer safe options; and other random things that interest me as a human.  

 
6.png
 

Disclaimer: While I work hard to ensure that product information is correct, occasionally manufacturers may alter their ingredient lists. Actual product packaging may contain more and/or different information than that shown on my website. I recommend that you do not rely solely on the information presented here and that you always read labels, warnings, and directions before using or consuming a product. For additional information about a product, please contact the manufacturer. Content on this site is for reference purposes and is not intended to substitute for advice given by a physician, pharmacist, or other licensed health-care professional. Eating 8SAFE LLC assumes no liability for inaccuracies or misstatements about products.

These product recommendations are not sponsored or endorsed. However, if you purchase a product using one of my Amazon links, I’ll receive a small commission (at no additional cost to you!) which helps offset the cost of this website. Thank you in advance for your support!