The following recipes can easily be made 8SAFE by using ingredients that are free of gluten and the top eight allergens — wheat, milk (dairy), soy, egg, peanut, tree nuts, fish & shellfish.
*Always double check the ingredients of products you use for 8SAFE recipes.
While I do my best to be up to date with the products I recommend, manufacturers can (and do) change their formulas from time to time. It’s also human nature to make a mistake now and then and I’m no exception. Ultimately, it’s your responsibility to keep you and your guests safe from potential allergens, so please confirm the safety of all the ingredients you use.
Confused about coconut?
According to The American College of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology, "Coconut is not a botanical nut; it is classified as a fruit, even though the Food and Drug Administration recognizes coconut as a tree nut. While allergic reactions to coconut have been documented, most people who are allergic to tree nuts can safely eat coconut."